Sandy Banks

NOTE – I have corrected some issues I had with this photograph, inlcuding the trees! I have reuploaded it here, and am leaving this page as is, purely for comparative purposes. As such, I’ve closed commenting on this page. Any and all comments should go on the new page, thank you!

Today we have another photograph from the Swift river, in beautiful New Hampshire. This was taken after my wading trip through the river. I think I actually like this one more than my wading shot, which (given my luck) figures!

This was mostly one raw file, with a second one used for some of the darker detail in the foreground. I’m still not thrilled with the coloring on the trees. It looks fine in photoshop, but whenever I drop a JPEG out they end up lighter. I don’t know if it’s my crappy home monitor or what.

Don’t be surprised if I re-up this later with some minor color fixes. But overall I’m pretty pleased with this one!

EF-S10-20mm f/3.5-4.5 USM @ 10mm
ISO200, f/5.6 at 1/250 sec exposure

6 Responses to “Sandy Banks”

  1. Beautiful photo…. beautiful nature.

  2. very impressive shot! i love your blog, will make sure to take a deeper look soon!

  3. This is a beautiful image! Looks like a painting!

  4. Love this HDR. Such a beautiful wide shot. I’ve been wanting to make my way to NH. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!!

  5. Very nice composition. The sky and water look terrific but the trees and rocks look oversharpened or something.

    • I agree. I don’t think I’m done with this image yet. The trees still leave me wanting. I actually did a larger print of this and it doesn’t look so bad, but yeah, on screen there’s just something about the trees that I’m not big on. Thanks for the feedback!

