Overcast Pit Stop (updated)

UPDATE: Upon closer inspection I had some sloppy masking edges. While reworking the edges, I found a better blending mode for the sky. Now the sky’s richer in color! Enjoy!

While Lynne and I were in New Hampshire, we took a trip to go to North Conway. There’s a particularly great little country store there called Zeb’s that we love. On our way there we drove through much of Franconia Notch. I had to pull over and take some pictures of this lake, as I liked the way it sat next to the road, and the view of the mountains in the background.

Of course as soon as I pulled over the clouds came out.  They weren’t as dark as the HDR made them out to be, but they look cool nonetheless. This HDR was a bit of a pain getting colors right. After some heavy masking of adjustment layers I think I finally arrived at something I like. This is two different exposures, one at f/8, one at f/16.

Shot @ ISO 200 f/9 at 1/200 Sec and f/16 at 1/200 Sec

Rebel XTi Using EF-S10-22mm USM @ 28mm

3 Responses to “Overcast Pit Stop (updated)”

  1. Excellent use of perspective Andy. I love how the curve of the road draws you into and through the photo.

  2. The sky does look fantastic. sometimes the sky gives me so much trouble with HDR. I too love the perspective on this – perfect. Fantastic scenery!!

  3. This is such an amazing photo!
    Your photos are so beautiful. They look like they’ve been painted.
    The angle it’s on makes it look… breathtaking. 😀
    I think I’m going to have to look at your wordpress more often!

Leave a Reply

