Cold River Forest

This was taken in the White Mountain National Forest, in wonderful New Hampshire. Not far from the Kancamagus (pronounced kank-a-magus) Byway. It’s not often that I go swimming with $1600+ of equipment. Equipment that hates water by the way.

I was knee deep in FRIGID glacial runoff when taking this photo. All things considered I think it came out quite well. I could be mistaken, but I believe this was the Swift River that I was wading in.

Two RAW files were used. Many layers and blending with this one.

COPYRIGHT ANDY CALNAN 2009

Image may not be used without permission

UPDATE: I reposted this image, as I noticed the version I exported for here before had a very valuable layer turned off. The previous image was fairly washed out. This is no longer the case. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Cold River Forest”

  1. Most definitely worth a frigid swim, but I’m glad it was you instead of me 😉

  2. Wonderful shot and good HDR work. But you win the kupi doll for having the chutzpah to go wading with your gear in hand. I don’t know if I could do it.

    Kevin Randolph
    http://www.grassrootsvideo.wordpress.com

  3. Wonderful tones and composition. The processing is top notch.

  4. From my years as a fly fisherman, I have been haunted by waters. I see fish holding around those rocks. Beautiful image.

  5. That’s a gorgeous shot. Nice river too. Our river is pretty dormant right now, as it’s winter here. Can’t wait for summer so I can be knee deep in it too.

Leave a Reply

